Picture
Freda, Edie & Xiong Mao at Home School
As the new school term opens in China, so does LEAF Home School, with only a small amount of complaining from Freda and Edie. I've reminded them that workbooks completed this week won't need to be carried to New Zealand, which in turn means having to jettison fewer toys and things. We're focusing on Maths and English in the mornings and arty things in the afternoon, with various fun activities inbetween. It's a challenge to remain patient with my own children, just as it's a challenge for them to remain polite and obedient with me as I move from 'mother' to 'teacher'. I let the dog remain under the table this morning just so that I had something to bargain with if need be i.e. "finish your work or the dog goes out", though 'dressed up' to sound a little more reasonable, of course. It's also a challenge to keep focused in such close proximity, and not feel that home, play and school life all just blend into one and are . I know that home-workers have various strategies for coping with this, like leaving through the front door, walking round the house and entering through the back door to start work. We haven't resorted to that yet but it's something I may keep in mind when Home School takes to the road for our New Zealand campervan trip!

3/9/2010 08:55:50 pm

I can post you a cane if things get rough.....!

Reply



Leave a Reply.