Picture
When I got back from my morning run and opened the yard gate I discovered this snake exploring our courtyard. Ali and Edie were pottering around inside, oblivious. When Mr Liu nominated himself snake charmer, he ended up chasing it around our shoe rack with a pair of tongs, finally grasping it by the tail with a gloved hand. I was sorry that our neigbour had taken over, as we knew the snake wasn't poisonous and I'd have liked to have the chance to study it for longer. Education and sentiment are frequently cast to the wind here and, accordingly, the snake was immediately carried off to the dustbins. It was hard to intervene, though Freda said to Mr Liu in Chinese: "Mum says please don't kill it". The next time we discover a slithery visitor we'll keep quiet ... until we're ready to remove it that is!

19/8/2010 08:54:22 pm

Wow! Very cool!

Reply



Leave a Reply.