Picture
This week as been one of professional and personal turmoil, but things are becoming clearer now. To cut a long story short, the day after I announced I was leaving an opportunity arose that I have been working towards for years - to work with methods teachers and students from other departments to help improve the teaching practice experience of Simao Teachers' College teaching majors. The slight irony is, given our language skills and previous experience, it's not the English Department that wants to cooperate. We are currently forming a partnership with the Deans and methods teachers for Maths, Computer Science and Physics. On delivering my second methods workshop to Maths students I was accompanied by Liao Xinli who had the job of rescuing me when my Chinese ground to a hault, and to translate what the students wrote on the blackboard during a feedback activity. I then ran back to the office to continue preparation of the Methods Workbook we will use when we start workshops next week. This will have to be adapted and translated for our new group of clients! It's exciting, challenging, terrifying and is making me very happy. My departure date has been postponed a little, but we still aim to leave, probably at the end of this term.  

Paul
13/5/2010 05:28:14 pm

Be careful - there'll always be "one more exciting opportunity"!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.