Picture
Last-minute internet access
As we pack up our luggage ready to leave the yard, we also prepare to say goodbye to the internet for now. It's hard work sorting through things yet again, deciding what to keep and what to jettison, especially given that we're not sure how the next few months will pan out in terms of jobs. We have packed up so many times in the last year and it's hard work after a while. A few items are harder for me to part with, such as my beloved coffee maker, bought when I won the Yunnan Friendship Award in 2007 so symbolic as well as useful. I'm hoping our friends in Beijing, Howard and Xialin, will give it a good home. And the blanket? A teacher in Simao Teachers' College gave it to me. I learned how to crochet and have been extending it since. It's now quite bulky and heavy and I'm considering taking it to New Zealand instead of a jacket! The only disadvantage is that it doesn't have pockets in which to pack other heavy items. I worry that we have too much stuff, until I remember that we're moving house and it then seems like a fairly modest collection of goods.

[No emails or blog entries until 8th/9th September]

nita
5/9/2010 01:41:57 am

good luck and take care

Reply
5/9/2010 04:57:19 pm

Safe travels. Send me a postcard!

Reply



Leave a Reply.