Picture
I'm back in China and these are my students! Only joking. Last week I visited a community-based English class provided by the WEA (Workers' Education Association) to complete an observation task for my Diploma. The eight women in the class are from Hong Kong and Macau, with one lady from mainland China. It was wonderful to revisit the language and culture - jam jars of kai shui (hot water) on the table, hands over mouths when giggling, talking about me like I wasn't there! The teacher, Melanie, delivered a wonderful lesson, giving me great data for my research. It's great to be meeting new people and I'm happy to have some colleagues with whom to share ideas and chat about teaching.

I also work for the WEA twice a week, teaching eight Polish workers at Harry Gow Bakery. It's very different to teaching formal students, in a school or College environment. Although motivated and happy to participate in whatever activities I give them, they are often tired and lack confidence in their study skills. They are either at the end of a long shift, or between two shifts. Either way, they arrive in class with their overalls, hair nets and hats on, either sweating or yawning. Despite that, however, they refuse to stop for a tea or coffee break in the middle. "We need to study!" said Ania.


25/2/2011 07:43:07 pm

Nice. The classroom looks a little cleaner than those I've seen you in before!

Reply
Kate
28/2/2011 04:09:34 am

You really got me with that "back in China" thing!!!
Kate (now calmed down)

Reply
Leandra
2/3/2011 09:17:26 pm

Isn't it strange, this dualistic relationship with China? We were totally happy when we discovered a "lanzhou niu rou mian" in Battambang and I can even order the dished in Chinese....
China: once it got you, it will never leave you anymore...

Reply
5/3/2011 09:52:18 pm

marvellous blog and site in awe of what you have achieved, sya lived in chine teaching english for a year, she would love to meet up so do get in touch and come for dinner etc.marvellous work will read blog at leisure.xx lee bruce fernbank 01349 865606

Reply
17/3/2011 10:22:49 am

.... another blog entry please. It's been 2 weeks since this one!! heehee!

Reply
Ed
26/3/2011 06:19:55 am

It's now a month! I might have to email you to see if everything's okay!

Reply
27/3/2011 09:16:14 pm

...I emailed a week ago. Still nothing..
Are you guys OK??

Reply
Haiyan
30/3/2011 05:29:51 pm

Hi, Lesley, long time no see you, I am always missing you, PLEASE CANTANCT ME :0065 83173629

Reply
6/4/2011 12:45:59 pm

Has anyone heard from LEAF family recently? Are they OK? I've had no reply from emails, letters etc?

Reply
noreen
7/4/2011 11:15:01 pm

Paul: no reply either to emails or skype. would love to hear for you guys!

Reply
Leandra
18/4/2011 12:28:04 pm

same here...

Reply
hongyan
5/5/2011 01:08:07 am

I last heard from Lesley on 20 Mar by email. No more news since then. I really want to know how she is now...

Reply
Theo
14/5/2011 05:09:25 am

Dear Leaf Family,

We intend to go to Simao City next summer, and reading your site on Simao City we were wondering if we could get in touch with you regarding some more specific information/people to get in touch with who want to act as interpreter.

Kind regards

Family Kamsma

Reply



Leave a Reply.