Picture
When I heard the tofu sellers calling at 6 am I thought it was a bit anti-social, then I learned that they get up at 2:30 to start making their bean curd and soya milk. Is that really 'morning', or does it count as not really going to bed?! This bag of dou jiang (enough to give us a large glass of soya milk each) and this 500 g block of tofu set me back 2.5 RMB, that's about 25p. Tofu is common here, and an important source of protein when meat is relatively expensive. 

Once out of bed, the early bird has plenty time to sweep the yard, open the windows, boil drinking water for the day and prepare breakfast. Today I attempted something I've been thinking of for years - making chocolate-filled baozi (steamed bread). These might even be the first chocolate baozi in China, so I thought I'd get video evidence [see More movies].




Leave a Reply.