Picture
I've thorougly enjoyed having access to a proper kitchen, complete with an oven, wide range of dishes, scoops and scales, not to mention cupboardfuls of great ingredients.

A few days ago I made some muffins, a few of which Steve even managed to sell in the coffee shop. Today I made pizza - brave, given that there are two Italians in the house. It's been a truly multi-cultural cuisine week. Yesterday Lesley made Tabbouleh, a traditional Lebanese salad made of bulgar wheat, parsley and mint, tomato, spring onion and seasoned with lemon juice and olive oil. We ate it with flat bread Lesley picked up in a Lebanese bakery just round the corner from her workplace. The Western suburbs, where Lesley and Steve live, are renouned for their multiculturalism and where better to enjoy that than in the kitchen?

The weather has been heating up and I had to buy sunglasses for the girls today, who said their eyes ache a bit when we go outside. I thought 5 years in the tropics would have prepared us for Sydney but we must have readjusted to cooler climes while in New Zealand.

We set off on a 4-day camping trip tomorrow. More news on that by Monday. Meantime I'm hoping Ali will entertain you with some tramping news from the NZ alps.

Picture
We wait apprehensively as Steve cuts and evaluates my pizza. I think it got the 'two thumbs up!'
For years I've wanted to be able to spin out the pizza bases on my hands, instead of rolling them to death with a rolling pin. It normally ends up with my fingers popping through the over-stretched dough. With careful dough- making and some expert tuition from Steve [who used to own his own pizzeria at Bondi Beach], however, I have finally learned how to do it. See more movies for video evidence.



Leave a Reply.