Picture
Making our way along Matheson Street
We've just shed our loads in Charlotte's flat in Happy Valley, on Hong Kong Island. Ali's Aunt (mum's youngest sister) has lived in HK on and off since the '80s. Her flat overlooks the racecourse, providing great entertainment on race nights, though one needs binoculars.

Our travel plans changed slightly today when we arrived in Shenzhen airport to find there is no longer a ferry link to HK. We took the bus instead, which worked out to cost half the price and drop us off within a ten-minute walk of the flat. Other's might have hopped in a taxi given the amount of luggage we had (over 100 kg between us) but it was just as easy to go by foot and, given that we are now both 'between jobs', we have to save the pennies/HK$/RMB while we can.

I have mixed feelings about leaving China. During recent weeks I've been feeling like I'm on holiday in the North, due to return to Simao for the new term. It's only now sinking in that that's not the case. Despite no longer working at the College, however, I am in regular contact with Hou Wanxia begin_of_the_skype_highlighting     end_of_the_skype_highlighting, my good friend and colleague in the Teaching Develoment Centre. She still shares her daily troubles with me and I find ways to offer support. It's hard to drop, so quickly, something that meant so much to me. Perhaps I don't have to for now.

Hongyan
8/9/2010 11:32:30 pm

Dear Lesley, great to know that you have landed in Hongkong smoothly. I will always remember the time we spent together. Enjoy your holiday now. You deserve a good one!

Reply



Leave a Reply.