Picture
Campbell Robertson, hunter gatherer
While Lesley and the girls have been living it up in Australia, I've been having fun in the Southern Alps, NZ. Just got into Hokitika (on the West Coast) after a magnificent 4 days (and 62km) of tramping from Arthur's Pass. I did the Three Passes route, the classic Canterbury tramp which crosses the Main Divide three times, and at this time of year (Spring) is still very snowy and Alpine. In fact I needed my ice axe and crampons on one pass and was (according to the DOC Ranger) the first person to complete the route this season. It was a great trip, and I really enjoyed being out in the mountains on my own - didn't see a soul for nearly 3 days. In Hokitika I'm being put up by Tracey and Campbell Robertson, friends of Andrew and Susie in Christchurch. They've taken a complete stranger into their home and made me feel like an old friend - thankyou so much guys! In the picture you can see Campbell in true Kiwi bloke mode - cooking up venison sausages (he shot the deer himself) on the barbeque. The seafood chowder also went down a treat (ditto the salmon and scallops, fished himself), as did the toffee dumplings. Read more on the tramp below...

14/11/2010 03:38:23 pm

Very impressive tramping, Ali!

Reply



Leave a Reply.