Picture
Hongyan's 3rd floor apartment
Edie and I have been made very welcome in Hongyan's home and I can slowly feel my stress levels going down. This morning I left Edie in the company of Bai Ling, looked after by Hongyan's parents. I went out for a 'working lunch' with Yanhui and Hongyan, to discuss arrangements for 'the yard' as our next (home)base is called. I returned to spend the afternoon in Bai Ling's bedroom, playing games with the girls and escaping the Beijing heat. We have three more days of city living before heading out to the countryside, where we know there will be water, electricity and a bed.....though the latter is not certain. What is certain is that we will be surrounded by mountains and within walking distance of forests and a river. What more could we want?

Picture
Bai Ling and Edie making Ello creations on the bed. Bai Ling is a couple of years younger than Edie but already has some English, due to her mum slowly introducing it in daily life. While we played cards Bai Ling spoke English, Edie spoke Chinese and I bumbled along somewhere in between. Very amusing.



Leave a Reply.