Picture
Play time after school
These days I am filled with delight at finding pleasure in what may be considered mundane tasks - walking the girls to the school bus in the snow, meeting the girls as they come back from the bus in the snow, watching BB-the-dog meet the girls with yelps and bounds as they come back from the bus in the snow, returning from dropping the girls at the bus to do 15 minutes of tai qi (in the snow) followed by a large, strong cappuccino.....not in the snow. Honestly, it's hard to put into words the mixture of emotions I have experienced these days as Edie and Freda begin school life at our local Primary - a mixture of excitement, trepidation, relief, gratitude and wonder. I haven't felt this way for a long time, given that the last 5 years have had a particular high dose of stress and responsibility in terms of childcare, not only for day-to-day care in extraneous circumstances, but for their entire education - even their attendance at local schools required a huge amount of parental supervision and support. They are now thoroughly enjoying school life, already building positive relationships with their classmates and teachers, finding the academic tasks a breeze. They return home with hilarious tales of playground antics, the content of other children's packed lunches and the mischief they have partaken in. Freda, for instance, was persuaded to teach some Chinese to her classmates. She taught her friend Ewan to say: "I'm a bit of an idiot", which they all found very amusing.

An up-and-coming project for Freda is to prepare a talk on a famous Victorian. She's currenlty researching George Forrest, a Scot who lived and died in Yunnan after making a name for himself as a prolific botanist and plant-finder. As you can see, China still features in our daily lives.

Granny Eppie
12/1/2011 07:40:37 am

I have a couple of books about George Forrest if Freda is interested...an excellent subject, Freda.

Reply
12/1/2011 02:45:18 pm

I've got a film about Forrest Gump if that helps?

Glad to hear a more "relaxed tone" in your latest entry, Lesley. ;-)

Reply
Nellie
12/1/2011 08:17:43 pm

Hi Lesley, I understood your feeling although I was in Scotland only 1 year I still think I have some link with the place. Wish you all the best!

Reply
Leandra
12/1/2011 09:06:38 pm

Enjoy the simple things in life....
big hug!

Reply
Ed
12/1/2011 09:49:34 pm

I thought they'd settle in with no problems. Long may the fun continue.

Reply
JiaJia
12/1/2011 09:59:47 pm

I got to see your colourful blog today. It's amazing. I'm so happy. You're still living the life you wanted to. That's good. And the two kids look like they're growing up so fast. I miss you all so much.

Reply



Leave a Reply.