Picture
Patches started rolling in this week for my Simao blanket. Nita helped me make a poster to distribute around the College, inviting anybody who can knit to contribute one patch - any shape, size or colour, preferably using up their own wool remnants. As we were returning home last night our second floor neighbour, a retired teacher from Simao No 1 Middle School, popped out of her house with this red patch and an ethnic bag for Freda and Edie (early leaving presents). My aim is to have a blanket big enough to wrap myself in by the time we leave Simao. The colourful blanket will represent all my friends, students and colleagues from my time here. It also includes wool from many parts of China and patches I have knitted myself while travelling. The only problem is the blanket is already very heavy and looks like it will need my whole 20-kilo luggage allowance to get it home.

Picture



Leave a Reply.